Home History Bishop Parishes Parishes News Letter Contacts

Most Rev. Dr. Raymond Kingsley Wickramasinghe

Bishop of Galle

Most Rev. Dr. Bishop Raymond Wickramasinghe was born on Aug. 31, 1962 at Uthuwankanda in Kegalle district. He is the seventh child in a family of nine. Having had his primary education at the Pilapitiya Roman Catholic school in Kelaniya and the Mayurapadha primary, Mawanella He did his Advanced Level studies at the Piyatissa School in Kalegana, Galle. He had his priestly formation at St. Francis Xavier’s Seminary, Kalegana and the national seminary in Kandy.

He was ordained a priest in 1989 and holds a doctorate in Moral Theology from the Alphonsian University in Rome and also has a Baccalaureate in Philosophy and a Licentiate in Theology from the Propaganda University, Rome .

As an assistant priest he has served in the parishes of Ratnapura, Galle and Balangoda; and as parish priest in the parishes of Rakwana, Kalegana and the Cathedral parish of Galle . He served two Bishops of Galle as the secretary. He was also the rector of St. Francis Xavier’s minor Seminary, Kalegana during two different terms.

On June 27, 2011 Pope Benedict XVI appointed Rev. Fr. Raymond Wickramasinghe, as the new bishop of Galle. Rev. Fr. Wickramasinghe was in the national seminary staff at the time of his appointment.

Bishop Wickramasinghe succeeds Bishop Harold Anthony Perera, who was named Bishop of Kurunegala. The newly appointed prelate was a moral theology professor at the National Seminary of Our Lady of Lanka. Most Rev. Dr. Raymond Wickramasinghe was ordained as the new Bishop of the Diocese of Galle, on Aug. 31, 2011.

Previous Ordinaries:

• Bishop Harold Anthony Perera (2005 – 2009 Appointed, Bishop of Kurunegala)
• Bishop Elmo Noel Joseph Perera (1995 – 2004)
• Bishop Don Sylvester Wewitavidanelage (1982 – 1995)
• Bishop Anthony De Saram (1965 – 1982)
• Bishop Nicholas Laudadio, S.J (1934- 1964)
• Bishop Giuseppe Van Reeth, S.J (1895-1923)